“Discover the Champions: VRC Derby Winners through the Years!”

2 min read

Discover the proud history and impressive list of VRC Derby winners. From legendary champions to rising stars, find out who took home the coveted title.

The History of VRC Derby Winners


The Victoria Racing Club (VRC) Derby, also known as the Victoria Derby, is one of the oldest and most prestigious horse races in Australia. It has a rich history dating back to its inaugural running in 1855. The race is held annually at Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne and is open to three-year-old horses. Over the years, the VRC Derby has produced some legendary winners who have gone on to achieve great success in the world of horse racing.

Early Years

The first winner of the VRC Derby was Rose of May in 1855. Since then, the race has grown in stature and popularity, attracting top horses, trainers, and jockeys from around the country. In the early years, the VRC Derby was dominated by local horses, with Victorian stables proving to be particularly successful. The race quickly established itself as a key event on the Australian racing calendar, drawing large crowds and significant betting interest.

Notable Winners

Over the years, the VRC Derby has been won by some of the greatest horses in Australian racing history. One of the most famous winners is Phar Lap, who claimed victory in 1929. Known as “Big Red,” Phar Lap was a dominant force in Australian racing during the 1920s and is still regarded as one of the greatest racehorses of all time. His win in the VRC Derby cemented his legacy as a true champion.

Another notable winner of the VRC Derby is Tulloch, who triumphed in 1957. Tulloch was a champion racehorse who won numerous prestigious races during his career, including the Cox Plate and the Melbourne Cup. His victory in the VRC Derby further solidified his reputation as one of the all-time greats in Australian racing.

Recent Champions

In more recent years, the VRC Derby has continued to produce standout winners who have gone on to achieve success at the highest levels of the sport. In 2019, Warning claimed victory in the race, ridden by jockey Damien Oliver. Trained by Anthony Freedman, Warning put in a stellar performance to win the prestigious event and etch his name into the history books.

Another recent champion of the VRC Derby is Ace High, who won the race in 2017. Trained by David Payne and ridden by Tye Angland, Ace High put in a dominant display to claim victory in the race. The win was a crowning achievement for both horse and connections, solidifying their place in VRC Derby history.

Legacy of Champions

The winners of the VRC Derby have left a lasting legacy on the sport of horse racing in Australia. Their feats on the track have inspired generations of racing fans and have helped to shape the rich history of the sport. From the early years of the race to the present day, the VRC Derby winners have showcased the very best of Australian racing talent and have set a high standard for future generations to aspire to.

As the VRC Derby continues to grow in stature and popularity, the legacy of its champions will only continue to expand. Each year, new winners are crowned, adding their names to the illustrious list of VRC Derby victors. The race remains a key fixture on the Australian racing calendar, drawing top horses, trainers, and jockeys who all vie for the chance to etch their names into racing history as VRC Derby winners.


The VRC Derby is a race steeped in history and tradition, with a list of winners that reads like a who’s who of Australian racing. From the early years of the race to the present day, the VRC Derby winners have embodied the very best of the sport, showcasing talent, determination, and skill on the track. As the race continues to evolve and grow, one thing remains constant – the VRC Derby winners will always hold a special place in the hearts of racing fans around the country.